Pushed Into the Deep End

When I first decided to move back to Eugene from The Grey Havens (a small, bucolic coastal town), I was warned by the denizens of many cycling related message boards that bikes would be stolen almost immediately. I had already purchased some hefty Kryptonite locks (a cable lock was all that was needed in The Grey Havens), filled out their online forms and kept all the paperwork necessary to get the purchase price of my bicycle back if it was indeed stolen (a princely sum of $450) and decided to stop worrying about it.

Image

Turns out it wasn’t my bicycle I needed to be worried about.

Nothing was taken except a first aid kit (for horses), but the window will cost at least $250 dollars to replace (almost all of my Nuvinci N360 savings, so no way that’s going to get fixed) and the scranusbags left the door open, so my battery is drained, and I won’t be able to get it jumped for a few weeks.

Which means, dear reader, that despite having used a bicycle almost exclusively for the past few years for transportation, my security blanket is gone, and I am effectively car-less. I’m going to pick up an LTD pass at my work on Monday, we’ll see how things go.

Leave a Reply

Kickstand Comics featuring Yehuda Moon

-n. The specific type of happiness generated by riding a bicycle. -v. The act of cycling in Eugene, Oregon.

Taking the Lane

-n. The specific type of happiness generated by riding a bicycle. -v. The act of cycling in Eugene, Oregon.

Winnipeg CycleChick

-n. The specific type of happiness generated by riding a bicycle. -v. The act of cycling in Eugene, Oregon.

Eugene Bicyclist

ON BIKE CULTURE IN EUGENE | Fine blogging since 2010 (with periodic long breaks)

Bread Bike

Blog about bikes, & my life in Eugene

Bike Snob NYC

-n. The specific type of happiness generated by riding a bicycle. -v. The act of cycling in Eugene, Oregon.

Lovely Bicycle!

-n. The specific type of happiness generated by riding a bicycle. -v. The act of cycling in Eugene, Oregon.

